Video Reviews

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Thursday, 28 April 2011

Extra Credits does Other M

Posted on 10:47 by Unknown
Yes, I've seen it - we work for the same bloody website ;)



Why is "Extra Credits" the best gaming show on the web? Because when THEY make the Other M episode, they spend 99% of it on things like narrative mechanics and localization, maybe 1% or less on percieved socio/political "messages"/issues that simply aren't really there and ZERO percent of it on dime-store analysis of the alleged "cultural misogyny" of a foriegn culture they don't belong to.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Armchair Thinkers podcast

Posted on 00:21 by Unknown
Below (and at THIS LINK) my most-recent appearance on the Armchair Thinkers Podcast. Check them out.

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Wednesday, 27 April 2011

looking for electronic musicians

Posted on 23:04 by Unknown
Hey guys.

So... looking to talk to/with any fans who happen to be electronic musicians, specifically (but not exclusively) people with experience in retrogaming "chiptune"-style stuff, about a possible opportunity. Interested parties can send me a message via Facebook, or post whatever contact-info you're comfortable with (or other questions) in the comments section of this post.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Monday, 25 April 2011

EPISODE 50: "War of The Thinkers" (UPDATED!)

Posted on 20:03 by Unknown
UPDATE: As of 9/13/11 this video is now at THIS LINK

The AntiThinker Saga comes to an end. I hope people enjoyed this as much as we enjoyed making it.



More stuff after the jump...


So... there it is, have at it. In addition to further episodes of the regular series, I'm planning to have some making-of, retrospective stuff up in the near future to elaborate on certain points; but just a few things real quick while we're all here:

If some of the post-transformation looks oddly-sped-up, there is nothing wrong with your computer or ScrewAttack's player (at least not in regards to this.) What you're seeing is mostly an attempt to artficially replicate a high shutter-speed with video, coupled with some "OMG a whole fucking day of shooting captured all wiggy for some reason!!!"

My favorite joke in the whole bloody enterprise is at 10:21.

Credit where credit is due: My best friend Tim Luz and my brother Chris did not only 99% of the cinematography on this, but they've done 99% of the "when you see me" shooting on the entire series up to this point - the unsung heroes of The Game OverThinker. In addition, that's Chris in the AntiThinker "true form" costume, and doubling me in the over-the-shoulder "Fake Shemp" shots.

The fake blood you see in the "splatter" shots is store-brand vegetable juice, and the "chest-punch" torrent is a mix of tomato soup, water and cherry gelatin-mix - every single drop of "prop gore" spilled was not only nontoxic and biodegradable, but edible. The "chopped" tree limb was an unrelated (to the tree) piece of debris being held up offscreen. NO portion of all that beautiful forest land that provided such a nice backdrop for this whole production was polluted, despoiled or otherwise harmed by our filmming; a commitment we all made and stuck to.

Looking back now, I kinda want to go back and stick the "Rise From Your Grave!!!" sound from Altered Beast over the "ressurection;" but nah - I'm DONE editing this bloody thing ;)

The "origin story" alluded to be The OverThinker is more-or-less "true," and will probably be elaborated upon in the future. (I'm only making MOST of this up as we go along.)

"Cloaked Figure" aka "Monster-Voice Guy" DOES already have an identity, I already know who/what he is, what his "deal" is, etc; and you'll hopefully find out exactly what that is in the near(ish) future.

Yes, that last bit is referencing Rev Rants' video. NO, I'm not "calling him out," looking to start shit, or even outright wholesale disagreeing with him; my position is more on the lines of "except when it is." I see the "Fun is Not Enough" thing quoted around a lot, often used (incorrectly, unless I misunderstood Rev's initial point) as a "takedown" of smaller titles and casual/retro stuff... and yeah, I'm on the other side of that. But otherwise? Rev is alright with me ;)
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Final Preview Image for Episode 50

Posted on 12:13 by Unknown

One more preview image for EPISODE 50 - still set to go live at 11pm ET tonight. (Yes, the visual reference is intentional.)
Read More
Posted in | No comments

It's Real

Posted on 11:43 by Unknown
Nintendo announces a "Wii Successor" for 2012... in a pdf.

We'll all find out how much money it's going to cost to play the next Mario, Zelda, etc. at E3.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Thursday, 21 April 2011

I did an interview with PixelJumpers

Posted on 15:31 by Unknown
...and here it is. Enjoy!
Read More
Posted in | No comments

The OverThinker's insane Wii2 theory

Posted on 11:21 by Unknown
(posted to both blogs, because it's relevant)

Okay. By now, everyone is reasonably-certain that "Wii2" gets revealed at E3. And slightly-less-than-everyone is reasonably-certain that it's mystery-controller A.) isn't a Wii-Remote successor but rather can interface with one or something like one (knowing Nintendo this means peripheral backwards-compatibility, which they'd be INSANE not to do after selling everyone's mom a fortune in Wii Sports toolkits) and B.) incorporates a camera and mini-LCD touch screen into it's design - with most rumors suggesting the screen is roughly the size of an iPhone's, which would be HUGE for something that most are assuming is going to be "built-in" to a conventional dual-stick/buttons controller.

I've got a different theory...

I'll say upfront that I'm almost-certainly 100% off-base about this; largely because I have no talent or skillset for engineering. But on the off chance I'm right (or that it's not Nintendo's idea but not a bad one either...) here we go:

What if the touch-screen is an "everycontroller?"

Here's the idea: The screen will "fit" because it isn't there in-addition to action-buttons, but INSTEAD of action buttons. Basically, instead of dedicated action-buttons that every game has to be engineered for, the controller is just one or two analog sticks with NO dedicated action-buttons - instead, the touch-screen generates a set of "buttons" the arrangement and "form" of which are SPECIFIC to each individual game. Arcade-style buttons for a fighter, NES/SNES setup for a platformer, a PC-style stylus-oriented inventory menu for a sim (or an MMO?), something else for whole other genres I'm not thinking of or haven't been invented yet?

So, yeah. Crazy, probably not even close. But I don't think anyone could deny that this sounds EXACTLY like something Nintendo would do, right? Attention-getting, table-upturning, callous disregard for how 3rd party developers will feel about having to be controller-builders as well as game-designers and - this is the important part - it would LOOK ultra-revolutionary and cutting edge but can actually be built entirely out of decades-old technology their tech-teams are already well-versed in from the DS line. (Hmm... slightly-less insane theory: The controler will look like the bottom half of a 3DS, and a 3DS could be used in-place of one.)

So... uh-huh, that's kind of it: A controller that can turn into "any" controller - at least, that's how they'd sell it.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Monday, 18 April 2011

Episode 50 ScrewAttack exclusive trailer

Posted on 20:07 by Unknown
The exclusive screwattack-only trailer for Episode 50, which will be especially noteworthy to those of you who aren't already burned-out on "Dead Island" spoofs....

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Episode 50 EXCLUSIVE YouTube trailer

Posted on 10:47 by Unknown
Below, the exclusive YouTube-exclusive trailer for "War of The Thinkers." A longer ScrewAttack-exclusive trailer will (probably) debut later this evening.

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Sunday, 17 April 2011

Episode 50 Premiere Date Set!

Posted on 20:30 by Unknown
FYI folks, the premiere date for Episode 50 has been set for Monday, April 25th at 10pm CST (11pm ET) exclusively at ScrewAttack.com. The AntiThinker saga ends with bullets, blood and gratuitous video game in-jokes; and I hope people enjoy seeing it as much as we enjoyed putting it all together.

There will probably be at least one or two more trailers in-between now and then, and I'm thinking of putting a wrapup/production special together afterwards... but let's see how this goes for now.

In addition, while at one point I was considering using the "50th Anniversary" landmark as an opportunity for a brief sabbatical... I've decided against that. Barring any unforseen issues, the series will pick right back up on schedule not long after this has aired.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Friday, 8 April 2011

First trailer for "War of The Thinkers!"

Posted on 00:13 by Unknown
Read More
Posted in | No comments
Newer Posts Home
Subscribe to: Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • It's Real
    Nintendo announces a "Wii Successor" for 2012... in a pdf. We'll all find out how much money it's going to cost to play th...
  • The TGO Section of ScrewAttack is Back Up!
    GOOD NEWS! The original ScrewAttack episodes of the show are back up on the site after being unavailable for a short while during their upgr...
  • Latest evidence...
    ...as to why Extra Credits is the best gaming show on the web.
  • Glenn Beck: Video-Games Responsible For Sandy Hook Massacre
    Oh, fudge. (Hey, while you're hear, have you watched our new episode yet?) Y'know, for awhile there I was a little worried that the ...
  • LAST CALL FOR "ASK IVAN!"
    ANNOUNCEMENT! As of Midnight this Wednesday (October 3rd) I'll no longer be taking questions for next episode's big "Ask Ivan!...
  • EPISODE 75 ANNOUNCEMENT!
    Episode 75: "Easy Does It" will debut next Wednesday September 19th at 11:00pm CST right here on ScrewAttack. As ever, Advantage ...
  • Is It Time For "Girl Link?"
    I was checking out these excellent "Mario Gender Swap" fanart pix (hat-tip to BAD ) from Beth Rolling of  RollingRabbit, and it o...

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (83)
    • ►  December (4)
    • ►  November (4)
    • ►  October (3)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (4)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (8)
    • ►  March (10)
    • ►  February (6)
    • ►  January (16)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (5)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (10)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (9)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (8)
    • ►  April (13)
    • ►  March (7)
    • ►  February (4)
    • ►  January (20)
  • ▼  2011 (105)
    • ►  December (18)
    • ►  November (11)
    • ►  October (15)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (15)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (8)
    • ▼  April (12)
      • Extra Credits does Other M
      • Armchair Thinkers podcast
      • looking for electronic musicians
      • EPISODE 50: "War of The Thinkers" (UPDATED!)
      • Final Preview Image for Episode 50
      • It's Real
      • I did an interview with PixelJumpers
      • The OverThinker's insane Wii2 theory
      • Episode 50 ScrewAttack exclusive trailer
      • Episode 50 EXCLUSIVE YouTube trailer
      • Episode 50 Premiere Date Set!
      • First trailer for "War of The Thinkers!"
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile