Video Reviews

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Thursday, 30 June 2011

"War of the Thinkers" Commentary

Posted on 10:43 by Unknown
A little treat between shows.

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Monday, 27 June 2011

We Won

Posted on 10:19 by Unknown
The Supreme Court of the United States in a 7 to 2 decision - has struck-down California's violent video-games ban, and in doing so has ruled that restricting the sale of violent games to minors by force of law is unconstitutional. This is, without question, the biggest and most important American legal decision in video game history.

The most important part of the decision, in terms of future lawmaking, is in the wording of the Majority Opinion written by Justice Antonin Scalia (becoming, for the first time in his entire tenure, "cool") which specifically singles out the two most common arguments for game-censorship - that gaming's interactive nature and the un-planned-for nature technological evolution makes a "special case" for restriction - as being insufficient.

Incidentally, the decision defied the typical "liberal/conservative" split in the Court - a plurality of Justices voted to kill the ban, but Conservative Clarence Thomas and Liberal Steven Breyer were the dissenting votes.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Thursday, 23 June 2011

"Anarchy Reigns"

Posted on 12:42 by Unknown
Now THAT'S what I'm talkin' about. Far too long since a decent brawler.

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Eddie Lebron's "Sonic FanFilm" Has a Trailer

Posted on 01:35 by Unknown
Eddie Lebron, who did that not-bad-at-all "Mega Man FanFilm" a year or so back, is hard at work on a follow-up project based on "Sonic the Hedgehog." The big news thus far has been that he scored a fairly cool piece of casting: Sonic will be voiced by Jaleel White - who famously provided the character's voice on the American cartoons in the 1990s. Now it has a teaser trailer, with your first look at their CGI-Sonic...



FWIW, I liked Lebron's "Mega Man" movie. The guy has some chops, even if - like many DIY filmmakers in the YouTube era - his primary skillset seems to lie more in the realm of FX-integration than staging a scene. "Mega Man's" editing suffered from a lack of 'coverage' (re: insert-shots of atmosphere to establish geography and break-up static shots), so if he's gotten better at that it'd be an improvement right off the bat. Of course, what I'm REALLY interested in is seeing how they realize Dr. Eggman/Robotnik.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Wednesday, 22 June 2011

Regarding the "Tip Jar"

Posted on 18:18 by Unknown
Alright, so... as you can probably tell, there is now a PayPal "Tip Jar" button on the sidebar of both blogs. I just wanted to clarify a few things about that after the jump.

Here's the thing of it, folks: While I DO get paid to produce some of the content that is linked/embedded to this site, a good deal of it I do not - i.e. Game OverThinker, American Bob, "pieces" posted directly to the two blogs themselves, etc. So I figured that, on the off chance that folks who enjoy those things ever wished to "express" said enjoyment in the form of a tip here or there, it couldn't hurt to make the option available.

I want to be very clear on this point, though - the "tip jar" is EXACTLY what it says it is, and nothing else. It's not going to effect or be effected-by the content of the site - i.e. you will NOT see things in the vein of "if the tip jar gets X-amount full, this or that will happen on this or that show." Because that would be INCREDIBLY tacky and lame. It's a virtual jar by the virtual till, period; and will have no influence on content - PERIOD.

Conversely, please know and take seriously any comments/emails/whatever along the lines of "if I put X-amount in the jar, will you start/stop doing this/that?" will be ignored. In fact, I'd prefer not to talk about it AT ALL - even in the well-meaning "hey man, I liked that so I tipped etc etc" in the comments/feedback or otherwise because - again - that seems tacky and uncomfortable to me.

The "tip jar," much like the ads, is STRICTLY a way for me to break a little bit more even on this whole "free entertainment and content" thing. If you like the blogs, content, etc and want to "show support" by tossing some change in the jar or clicking the ads; awesome, bless you, thank you very much. If not, that's cool too and thanks for reading/watching all the same.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Thursday, 16 June 2011

EPISODE 52: "Dark Days"

Posted on 20:24 by Unknown
UPDATE: As of 9/13/11 this video is at THIS LINK

Read More
Posted in | No comments

Wednesday, 15 June 2011

NEW EPISODE INCOMING THURSDAY NIGHT! (updated, my bad)

Posted on 14:34 by Unknown
Oops, jumped the gun a bit there: EPISODE 52 will debut Thursday evening, June 16th, at 11pm ET.

Also, you may wish to check out my new independently-produced political-comedy show, "American Bob," now LIVE on YouTube.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Tuesday, 7 June 2011

Blackwater: The Game

Posted on 14:49 by Unknown
There are no words for how despicable this is. Congratulations, Japan - "Rapelay" is no longer the most vile premise ever concieved for a video game.


505 Games is developing a Kinect-enable shooter based on the real-life mercenary outfit, developed in cooperation with it's founder and bearing the group's original name - which was changed after the public-relations "setback" of the company being dragged in front of Congress to face charges that the group had pulled all kinds of shady, illegal stuff up to and including murder of civillians in Iraq.

Y'know... the "America's Army" games/recruitment-ads were borderline edgy stuff... but this is easily the most morally-bankrupt (even by MY standards!) pitch for an actual game since.. what, "Custer's Revenge," easily? Yes, they have a right to make it... but if it actually SELLS it's going to be a black eye that'll set the gaming medium back for DECADES. Seriously - games-as-art after this = Republican Party after WATERGATE.

Oh, incidentally - any of the right-wing twits who pitched a hissy-fit about "Medal of Honor's" playable-Taliban but DON'T immediately also condemn this piece of shit are hypocrites of the absolute highest order.
Read More
Posted in | No comments

TANOOKI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted on 11:38 by Unknown
Been a long time, old friend...



Yes, of course, I'm very excited about the WiiU - basically a jacked-up 360 controlled with an iPad that runs first-party Nintendo software too - but c'mon, how can this NOT be the highlight of E3 for me?
Read More
Posted in | No comments

Thursday, 2 June 2011

Konami's Pre-E3 Teaser

Posted on 22:58 by Unknown
One of those only-in-gaming (or comics) teasers that is either IMMEDIATELY identifiable or utterly meaningless from person-to-person - no middle ground can exist:




I will say this much: If this is teasing what it appears to be teasing - I had BETTER NOT hear the words "first-person," "cover-based," "online multiplayer-focused" or "sandbox" anywhere NEAR it.
Read More
Posted in | No comments
Newer Posts Older Posts Home
Subscribe to: Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • It's Real
    Nintendo announces a "Wii Successor" for 2012... in a pdf. We'll all find out how much money it's going to cost to play th...
  • The TGO Section of ScrewAttack is Back Up!
    GOOD NEWS! The original ScrewAttack episodes of the show are back up on the site after being unavailable for a short while during their upgr...
  • Latest evidence...
    ...as to why Extra Credits is the best gaming show on the web.
  • Glenn Beck: Video-Games Responsible For Sandy Hook Massacre
    Oh, fudge. (Hey, while you're hear, have you watched our new episode yet?) Y'know, for awhile there I was a little worried that the ...
  • LAST CALL FOR "ASK IVAN!"
    ANNOUNCEMENT! As of Midnight this Wednesday (October 3rd) I'll no longer be taking questions for next episode's big "Ask Ivan!...
  • EPISODE 75 ANNOUNCEMENT!
    Episode 75: "Easy Does It" will debut next Wednesday September 19th at 11:00pm CST right here on ScrewAttack. As ever, Advantage ...
  • Is It Time For "Girl Link?"
    I was checking out these excellent "Mario Gender Swap" fanart pix (hat-tip to BAD ) from Beth Rolling of  RollingRabbit, and it o...

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (83)
    • ►  December (4)
    • ►  November (4)
    • ►  October (3)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (4)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (8)
    • ►  March (10)
    • ►  February (6)
    • ►  January (16)
  • ►  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (5)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (10)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (9)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (8)
    • ►  April (13)
    • ►  March (7)
    • ►  February (4)
    • ►  January (20)
  • ▼  2011 (105)
    • ►  December (18)
    • ►  November (11)
    • ►  October (15)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (15)
    • ▼  June (10)
      • "War of the Thinkers" Commentary
      • We Won
      • "Anarchy Reigns"
      • Eddie Lebron's "Sonic FanFilm" Has a Trailer
      • Regarding the "Tip Jar"
      • EPISODE 52: "Dark Days"
      • NEW EPISODE INCOMING THURSDAY NIGHT! (updated, my ...
      • Blackwater: The Game
      • TANOOKI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      • Konami's Pre-E3 Teaser
    • ►  May (8)
    • ►  April (12)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile