Video Reviews

  • Subscribe to our RSS feed.
  • Twitter
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Facebook
  • Digg

Monday, 2 April 2012

Yes, I Saw The Jimquisition

Posted on 12:29 by Unknown
Jim Sterling and I have shows on the same network, so yes I've seen his Mass Effect video. Stop Asking.


The Escapist : Jimquisition : Changing A Game's Ending And Destroying Art

I think he raises a plethora of good points - certainly framed more thoughtfully than the trolling I've been bombarded with for the last two weeks (guys, a MINUTE on Wikipedia can tell you that Arthur Conan Doyle left Sherlock Holmes untouched for about a DECADE before reviving him, and even then never "re-wrote" The Final Problem. Look shit up before you parrot it from 4Chan) but I still can't fundamentally agree that anything good will come of caving to "Re-Take Mass Effect;" whether EA/Bioware "planned to" or not.

I don't accept the premise that gaming is fundamentally different from film or literature because of the manner of user-engagement, nor that choose-your-own-adventure structuring and letting you adjust the visual look of a main character makes Mass Effect some kind of sea-change, NOR that any of this represents some kind of important shift in the relationship of audience to artist - and if it does, it's a bad shift. Good art and good stories are not made via democracy. The artist is the superior of his/her audience, with the sole caveat that they may choose to render said artist powerless by withholding support. You take that away and all we've got is made-to-order bullshit, which is where cultural stagnation comes from. People who only ever get what they WANT will never discover what the didn't know they NEEDED.

Also, I still say that the precedent this will set is one of the worst things that could possibly happen to this increasingly-ridiculous industry - YES, it's possible that Bioware's back-to-the-drawing-board approach will yield a "better" ending for this ONE game... but that won't be the end of it. This being so high-profile will have an automatically-disasterous effect on fans, telling them that if they throw a tantrum they'll get their way, and on publishers especially: they're already disgustingly risk-averse, and "Remember What Happened To Bioware!" will be a convenient cudgel to bludgeon the ambitions of any creative team that wants to do something risky or unconventional in the medium...

...but, then again, given the number of folks tripping over themselves to insist that "Games AREN'T art! They're PRODUCT! I don't WANT them to be art if it means stuff like this!!!" recently, maybe everyone else will be okay with that; while I just get used to the ever-clearer realization that my remaining actively-engaged in the modern gaming scene is becoming an act of masochism.

Still, let it never be said I can't appreciate a different point of view, and Jim expresses his exceedingly well.
Email ThisBlogThis!Share to XShare to Facebook
Posted in | No comments
Newer Post Older Post Home

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)

Popular Posts

  • It's Real
    Nintendo announces a "Wii Successor" for 2012... in a pdf. We'll all find out how much money it's going to cost to play th...
  • The TGO Section of ScrewAttack is Back Up!
    GOOD NEWS! The original ScrewAttack episodes of the show are back up on the site after being unavailable for a short while during their upgr...
  • Latest evidence...
    ...as to why Extra Credits is the best gaming show on the web.
  • Glenn Beck: Video-Games Responsible For Sandy Hook Massacre
    Oh, fudge. (Hey, while you're hear, have you watched our new episode yet?) Y'know, for awhile there I was a little worried that the ...
  • LAST CALL FOR "ASK IVAN!"
    ANNOUNCEMENT! As of Midnight this Wednesday (October 3rd) I'll no longer be taking questions for next episode's big "Ask Ivan!...
  • EPISODE 75 ANNOUNCEMENT!
    Episode 75: "Easy Does It" will debut next Wednesday September 19th at 11:00pm CST right here on ScrewAttack. As ever, Advantage ...
  • Is It Time For "Girl Link?"
    I was checking out these excellent "Mario Gender Swap" fanart pix (hat-tip to BAD ) from Beth Rolling of  RollingRabbit, and it o...

Blog Archive

  • ►  2013 (83)
    • ►  December (4)
    • ►  November (4)
    • ►  October (3)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (7)
    • ►  July (4)
    • ►  June (9)
    • ►  May (4)
    • ►  April (8)
    • ►  March (10)
    • ►  February (6)
    • ►  January (16)
  • ▼  2012 (112)
    • ►  December (5)
    • ►  November (6)
    • ►  October (9)
    • ►  September (10)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (9)
    • ►  June (13)
    • ►  May (8)
    • ▼  April (13)
      • Fan Art
      • Sony's "Smash Bros." Clone Looks Like a "Smash Bro...
      • EPISODE 69: "AfterMass"
      • JOY
      • Episode 69 Announcement!
      • COD Elite Has Pro-Hitler Staff Pick
      • Badass Digest Out-Geeks "Re-Take," Again
      • VOTE!
      • Better Business Bureau Agrees "Mass Effect 3" Fals...
      • COME SEE THE OVERTHINKER AT PAX EAST 2012!
      • Home
      • Yes, More "Mass Effect"
      • Yes, I Saw The Jimquisition
    • ►  March (7)
    • ►  February (4)
    • ►  January (20)
  • ►  2011 (105)
    • ►  December (18)
    • ►  November (11)
    • ►  October (15)
    • ►  September (8)
    • ►  August (8)
    • ►  July (15)
    • ►  June (10)
    • ►  May (8)
    • ►  April (12)
Powered by Blogger.

About Me

Unknown
View my complete profile